Jacob’s Favorite Cookies

Jacob’s favorite cookies are oatmeal raisin, and he also loves coconut. I have been telling him I am going to make Oatmeal Coconut Raisin cookies forever! So I finally did, and they were delicious. I used an oatmeal pecan cookie recipe claiming to be equally crunchy and chewy as my starting point. I wanted a balanced cookie, and that is definitely how it turned out. I changed some things around to fit the ingredients I wanted to use, and they turned out really delicious.


Recipe Adapted From: Smitten Kitchen
Makes about 1 1/2 dozen cookies. I cut the recipe in half because 3 dozen is far too many cookies for me! See above link for original measurements.

Jacob’s Favorite Oatmeal Coconut Raisin Cookies
4 TBSP unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cup + 2 TBSP sugar, granulated
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed tightly
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg
3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1/2 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 tsp orange zest

Preheat your oven to 350°. Beat butter in a mixer, on medium speed, for 2-3 minutes until creamy and light. Add both sugars, the salt, and vanilla and beat for 3 more minutes, scraping the sides down to incorporate everything well. Add the egg, and beat until incorporated. Sift the flour, cinnamon, and baking soda together in a small bowl. I skip the sifting for a quick whisk to mix everything and break up lumps. Add the dry ingredients to the mixer in half batches, mixing on low. Scrape the sides, and make sure everything is blended before adding the second half of the dry ingredients.  Mix the raisins, coconut flakes, oats, and orange zest in a small bowl. I did this to ensure the ingredients were evenly spread throughout the dough. Stir them in, and mix on low only until everything is incorporated to the dough. Spoon the dough, 1 tablespoon at a time, onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake in the oven for about 12-15 minutes, and enjoy. The orange zest is one of my favorite parts to this dish, it adds a subtle freshness to the rich cookie. I served mine with some homemade cherry lemonade, but we will talk about that more later.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Karen

     /  08/22/2011

    I am going to try this one…..happens to be Lincoln’s favorite cookie too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

