Best Buttermilk Pancakes

I have been on a breakfast kick lately. I can’t help it, it is full of delicious things both savory and sweet. My initial plan was to make lemon poppy seed pancakes. Then I decided on just blueberry pancakes, because we got some at the grocery store earlier. However, when I tasted the blueberries, I did not want to put them in my pancakes anymore. They were neither tart, nor sweet, only mushy and blah. So I ended up with just plain buttermilk pancakes, but they were absolutely delicious and a perfect complement to any breakfast.

Recipe Adapted From: Smitten Kitchen

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
3 TBSP sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups buttermilk
2 tsp vanilla
1 TBSP butter, melted

First whisk all your dry ingredients together in a fairly large bowl, enough to hold the wet ingredients too. Next combine the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl, stir to combine well. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir JUST ENOUGH to combine, somewhat. After reading through a bunch of awesome pancake tips from my favorite blog, I determined the most important thing to remember is to not over mix your batter. You only want to stir the ingredients to combine them, you should shoot for medium lumps. The recipe says small to medium sized lumps, but the first time I made the pancakes I thought they were too flat and dense. I suspect it is because the batter became over mixed after spooning out many ladles of pancake batter. The second time around I left bigger lumps, and had much fluffier pancakes as a result. For EVEN fluffier pancakes separate the egg yolks and whites, and stir the yolks in with the wet ingredients. Save the whites, and whip them until fluffy, and gently fold them into the batter at the end! To cook the pancakes, heat a pan over medium-low heat to evenly cook the pancakes. Before each pancake, brush the pan with melted butter. It will be the perfect amount of fat to make a crispy exterior, without deep frying the pancakes. Flip the pancakes when bubbles form all over the top of the pancake, and cook until golden on both sides. You can keep pancakes warm on a sheet pan, or heat proof dish, in a 200 degree oven. Serve with butter and maple syrup, or your favorite pancake toppings!

One thing that made my pancakes extra special was the homemade vanilla I bought from a local farmers market. It was made with Texas rum, and aged in oak for 6 months to a year. The only ingredients are rum and vanilla bean. You won’t even find that in most high end vanillas. Check your bottle! If you live in the Houston area do yourself a huge favor, go to the Urban Harvest Farmers Market, stop by The Grateful Bread booth, and pick up some of their vanilla. It is life changing.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yummy, Sarah!! I love pancakes and made some this morning for Logan. (Ashamed to say, they were from a mix.) I’ll try this recipe!

    Reply
  2. hippiebc

     /  07/20/2011

    so these sound super yummy! I still must say I think you should post or re-try and then post the lemon poppy seed breakfast we had with the glaze and blueberry sauce. Me being such a picky person and all I thought those were phenomenal. Maybe just change the name from pancakes since they were thin, but yummy haha. If you don’t post it, send me the recipe lol. Love you twin!

    Reply
  3. Brenna

     /  07/20/2011

    oh and i just want to say for the record (again) that I am super jealous about that vanilla. When I got back in town here we went to the city market and i looked and looked for anything like it but no luck. so one more reason i am not a fan of VA lol. Love ya twin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

